Telephone

So a show of hands, who remembers the old game telephone?

For those who are a little rusty on the rules, typically folks are sitting/standing together and then one person says something to the person next to them and them to the next until the something gets back to the last person to hear.  That person then proclaims it.

Now, when I’ve played, the phrase may start out, Erica has a big nose, and end up, You’re looking like a tig shoes (tig is not a typo, made up words are soo apart of this game).

What if I told you that I play a version of telephone almost everyday on my way to the city?
What if I said that when it gets back to the original person it is exactly as it should be?  No one on the journey changed or sullied it in anyway…

I have a lot of time to think in Ukraine, but especially when I’m taking the tram to center (downtown).  And on the tram I noticed something that I think is remarkable.  It is the grown up, high stakes version of telephone.

An old lady, someone stuck at the back of a crowded tram, a lazy person (me sometimes) can pass his/her money up to the front of the tram (sometimes saying the number of tickets desired) with the hope and expectation of getting back not only his/her tram ticket, but change if it’s due.  Though this money and ticket passes through tens or dozens of hands, somehow it always (in my experience) makes it back.

Now granted it’s not a lot of money, at most maybe 5 hrvnia, but I know people who’ve stolen less in far riskier circumstances.  If we had to pay the metro guy in a New York Subway each time we got in a subway car, do you think you could pass your money and the ticket and or change get back to you?

This is something that I find so awesome about the tram, you always get your money/ticket back when passed, young men always stand up for older ladies to sit, and though it may be a smelly ride it almost always stops where it’s supposed to.

I love that I take the tram to center almost every day.  To me it is such a great picture of Ukraine.  There are moms and children, grandmothers, nuns, students, odd Americans, and all sorts of folk.

I think I’m really starting to love this place.

Leave a Reply

