Last Page

Do you know what my favorite childhood (and let’s face it adult) story was?

Peter Pan

I do believe I’ve seen all the movies made, including the old one where the girl plays Peter.  I could dissect all the ways I identify with certain things and critically think about why I love the story, but sometimes all that critical thinking gets in the way.  Sometimes it is just a good story–and a good story can stand up without all that well….crap.

I am a simple person, and sometimes I like to think simply.  I am amused by the simple things:  cool buttons, butterflies, FIREFLIES(they apparently don’t have these in Ukraine 😦 ), bubbles, ect, and I think it is terribly important not to be too serious all the time.  I love fairy tales (and lots of books) for this reason.  They are a whimsical amazing escape to fantasy, worlds, history, and time unknown with courageous and ever changing (or not) characters.

Though Peter Pan is my favorite story, I have never bothered to read the text from which it came.  Now I’ve seen the cartoon movie and all of the feature movies including Finding Neverland about how J. M. Barry came to write the book, but I have never read the words.  So when I saw that the book was for sale for .99 on my ereader, I knew I had to do it.  I mean after all I do have a full day of traveling ahead of me.

The great part about reading it (I’m yet only a few chapters in) is that I know how it ends.  I know these and those bits of the story.  As many friends will tell you (much to their frowning), I like to read the end of the book, perhaps just the last page, when I get to the middle.  I want to know that the story ends ok when in the middle of a tough patch where you don’t know who’s going to live, die, or wind up together.  I read books like I would LOVE to live my life.  I would love to know what decisions to go ahead and make.  I would love to know which of these decisions are the right ones.  If I could just read the last page…..  I just want to know that it turns out all right.

Currently I am at the beginning of a new chapter in my life (see what I did there?).  One that I know is going to be completely transformative, and that will continue to enrich me and form how I see the world for a long time to come.  Though I know full-heartedly, that I am exactly where I’m supposed to be, I find myself wanting to read the last page in the chapter.  Does she make it through whole?  Does she ruin everything?  Is she ok?

As found on page 80 of my copy (on my nook) of Peter Pan by J. M. Barry:
“Will they reach the nursery in time?  If so, how delightful for them, and we shall all breathe a sigh of relief, but there will be no story.  On the other hand, if they are not in time, I solemnly promise that it will all come right in the end.”

This is exactly where I’m at.  I am trying to live a better story.  The story that God has planned for me, and if I don’t take this leap (which by the way, I am totally going) there is no story.  That story dies, and the story that I’ve lived for the past few years continues to exist.  I am so excited/terrified for this new chapter, and I know that it will come out right in the end.

Just remember, you can fly!

3 thoughts on “Last Page

  1. Definitely identifying with you as I read The Hunger Games (though I’m wishing for a lighter subject than overthrowing a government!). You are going to write an AWESOME story, friend! I can’t wait to read it these next few years!
    Love,
    Hill

Leave a Reply

