Oh Holy Night

So I know that I officially fail at updating this.  I promise to have a “real” post soon, but tonight I will leave you with something that struck me this evening.

How often have we heard all of the Christmas Carols?  I mean each year I swear the radio stations start playing them earlier.  I know that I shouldn’t abhor hearing these songs in October, before Halloween or Thanksgiving for that matter (no I’m not bitter) because these are songs of GREAT joy in the celebration of the birth of Christ (well the ones that aren’t about Santa) why shouldn’t I revel in them all year long?  Well 24 hour Christmas music for 2 months-ish, just starts to grate on my nerves.  Regardless, we all know the basic ones and can hum a few bars and probably know most of the words.  I wonder (and have for awhile) how many people actually listen the words of songs, the words that they are probably singing along with?  Today I was busy packing when one such carol came on.  I was singing along and packing and moving a grooving when a verse  came on that I wasn’t too familiar with, so I just let it play, and I listened to the words.  Actually listened.  It struck me, and I feel compelled to let it sit with you (and all my facebook friends) for a moment.

“Truly He taught us to love one another, His law is love and His gospel is peace, Chains shall He break for the slave is our brother, And in His name all oppression shall cease, Sweet hymns of joy in grateful chorus raise we, Let all within us praise His Holy Name”

This verse is from Oh Holy Night.  There is so much packed into that little verse, and it may be my favorite for the moment.  I hope you enjoy it.

One thought on “Oh Holy Night

Leave a Reply

