Doctor Update

Alrighty folks, here’s the deal.

I went to the Blumenthal Cancer Center today, and got all checked out.  My dr, Dr. Higgins, was pretty awesome, but I like his nurse, Stephanie, even better.  He is very concerned about this cyst business and we are wasting no time.  I will have a CT and an appointment with anesthesiology on Friday, and then surgery on Wednesday.  I will be out of commission for at least two weeks, but maybe as many as four.  This dr said that it felt like I was six months pregnant, six months!  Does this mean that I will lose some tummy weight when I get done with all of this?  Who knows, but I am a silver lining type of lady and hopeful that I will  ;).  He is confident on two fronts, 1.  He doesn’t believe it’s cancer because I am too young and healthy, 2.  I will be losing an ovary.  The first is awesome, but we won’t know till we get the pathology reports, the latter is not as awesome, but if I want to make babies later I can with the one remaining ovary.   All of this is overall pretty positive.  I am very optimistic.  I will be spending anywhere from over night to 3 days in the hospital post surgery depending on a couple of factors and will know more after Friday.

So there you have it.  I’m going to be operated on, and I expect all of you losers to come visit me while I am recovering, which will probably take place in Spartanburg, and you better bring something tasty.  I will have a hard time being taken care of, but I am sure that it will come easily once the sweets start arriving.  😉

I will continue to update everyone as it comes.

In other news, I have a phone interview in about 10 minutes, and have no idea what I am going to tell these people.  We will see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

