God of This City

Everyone knows the oh so famous 1 Corinthians 13:4-8 verses about love right?  “Love is patient, love is kind.   It does not envy it does not boast…” etc.  I read once that to become a better follower of God you should try to insert your name every time the word Love appears in the passage.  Good advice really, you should be patient, kind, non jealous, etc.  I too like to practice this with other things, and recently the only song I have had stuck in my head is “God of this City”.  If you’ve never heard it, please go listen, it is amazing.  More importantly the lyrics speak not only to that city, but to the world and in this specific instance, kind of, to me.  I keep having this feeling like the city in this song for the purposes of it being replayed over and over in my head is really talking about my own personal inside city.  The place where all of the good and bad things live.  Kind of like in the movie Osmosis Jones.  The body was very literally a city.  Here are the lyrics to get a sense.

You’re the God of this City
You’re the King of these people
You’re the Lord of this nation
You are…

You’re the Light in this darkness
You’re the Hope to the hopeless
You’re the Peace to the restless
You are….

There is no one like our God
There is no one like our God

For greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done in this City
Greater thing have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done in this City

There is no one like our God
There is no one like our God

For greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done in this City
Greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done here

There is no one like our God
There is no one like our God

Greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done in this City
Greater things have yet to come
And greater things are still to be done here

I know that I’m not at the moment really facing anything life threatening, but the reality is that no matter how much other people tell me not to go to the bad worse case scenario place, I can’t help it.  I could be in some danger.  I could have some cancerous stuff happening, and that is the reality that I have been faced with.  So though it may be morbid to think in such a way, I can’t seem to find the positive that Narcie made look so easy.  Maybe in a few days I will, but today, today I am feeling worse case scenario.

The song above though, is surprisingly bringing me comfort.  If you read it like the city is Erica, then maybe you will find it reassuring too.  I am meant for great a wonderful things, and He is the God of this city, of this nation, and I know that there is no one like my, our, God and that He will take care of everything.  I know that if I let Him, He will bring me peace, light, and hope.

Leave a Reply

