The Fluffy Bunny

I am working my way through the book of Psalms at the moment, and to this point have found it kind of, how do you say, mean?  It is a lot about slaying the enemies of our Lord, war, and swords. Truthfully, I like to believe in the mercy of this whole faith thing, shall we say the forgiveness of it all.   Not that there is not a place for the rebuking and war and such (in the right context of course), but I would like to focus on the love, I mean who doesn’t?  I know that life isn’t all bunnies and fairy dust, but I want to believe that with some faith, mercy, and love there can be at least a cute fluffy bunny or something.  I have really been trying hard these days to find the fluffy bunny in some current life situations.  The fluffy bunny is always there, but you really have to search for it.

My minister, Narcie, has been diagnosed recently (less than two weeks ago) with a frontal brain tumor.  She is a loving mother of two, compassionate and patient wife to Mike, and an amazing minister and friend.  It baffles my mind that this is happening.  She is having surgery on Friday, and I don’t know if anyone could have taken this as well as she has been.  Narcie is a beloved woman, and there has been an incredible outpouring of love and support for her.  There was recently a support facebook group devoted to her that has 892 members at last count.  That is insane.  This whole thing is insane.  I have no doubt in my mind that she is going to pull through this in an amazing fashion, and that though life will be changed for her, she is going to be ok.  I am trying to find the fluffy bunny though.  I still haven’t found him yet, but I think I am getting close….

During my journey through the book of Psalms I have tonight stumbled upon Chapter 46 1:7…

“God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in trouble  Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging.  There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place where the Most High dwells.  God is within her, she will not fall:  God will help her at break of day.  Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall; he lifts his voice, the earth melts.  The Lord almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.”

I find the fluffy bunny in these comforting (though terrifying) words.  Right now Narcie’s earth is giving way and her mountains falling into the sea, though she doesn’t let this devastation affect her in such a drastic way, this is what is happening.  But the Word of God says she should be comforted in the refuge and strength in Him, and I am certain that that is exactly what she is doing.  I know that the “she” from above is referring to the city of God, but I like to think at this moment that the “she” is Narcie, at least that is my hope.  God is with her, and she will not fall.

I hope that you will join me in prayer for my minister and good friend Narcie Jeter.  I love her, and I can only but pray that God is going to see her through this surgery and recovery.

Leave a Reply

